Home > Writing > Writing Pains

Writing Pains


Ever since I learned to read, actually scratch that, ever since I knew of something called a book existed I’ve wanted to write a book. I would collect pieces of paper and fold them up like books and staple them in the middle so it would be like a mini binding. How I got the idea to do this I have no clue, all I know is that I still love writing (even though I’ve gotten considerably worse at it) and still haven’t published a thing. I like to refer to this anomoly as writing pains, kind of like growing pains. You know what you have to do, yet can’t do it for a billion or one reasons. Even though the story is in your head perfectly you still struggle to accurately represent it. I for one have seriously sat down and tried writing at least four times this year and still can’t do it, so hopefully this time I’ll do a little bit better and get past the first chapter.

So I figured I would put down some links to sites I personally thought were helpful in getting your mind in the direction of writing.  They are all made up of varying levels of difficulty, from  prose, poetry and links to help you make your dream a reality.

Book Suggestions (all can be found for under $10)

  • “Wreck This Journal: To Create Is to Destroy” by Keri Smith ISBN-13: 9780399533464
  • “The Elements of Style” by William Strunk, E.B. White, Charles Oswood (afterword) ISBN-13: 9780205309023
  • “Writing Magic: Creating Stories that Fly” by Gail Carson Levine ISBN-13: 9780060519605
  • “On Writing: A Memoir of Craft” by Stephen King ISBN-13: 9780743455961

Guides

Resources

For Fun

Read Online

Consider this medicine to ease your writing pains.

Feel free to comment about your writing experienes or lack thereof. Whatever’s on your mind, I’d love to hear it!

  1. Me
    December 18, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    Very nice 🙂 thanks for all the links! I look forward to seeing how this site develops.

  2. December 19, 2009 at 12:00 am

    Thanks I appreciate it! 😀

  3. December 31, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    Thanks so much for linking to my post on How to Write a Book in 60 Days!!

    Wishing you much luck with your writing!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

